The United Kingdom is slated to leave the European Union, an alliance which has lasted 47 years, despite not having been part of the Schengen Area of having adopted the euro as its currency.

The controverted split is to take place at 23:00 local time, and will be celebrated by the 52 percent of the British who voted for Brexit in the 2016 referendum.

For the 48 percent to voted against it, this will be a sad day, and this will be demonstrated with a procession that will take place this afternoon along Whitehall Avenue, where most of the governement buildings and the entrance to the residence of PM Boris Johnson are located.

According to the Treaty of Withdrawal, approved both by the British Parliament and the Eurochamber, starting on Saturday will begin an 11-month transition period, during which London and Brussels will attempt to define the terms of their new commercial relations.

This means little will change for both the British and the rest of the Europeans.

The UK will continue paying its membership to Brussles, the free movement of people will continue, and driving licenses will still be valid both sides of the La Mancha channel, just like the medical insurance policies.

London will put into circulation a commemorative 50-pence coin with an inscription reading ‘peace, prosperity and friendship will all nations’ in one of its faces, and will change the color of its passport, which will be blue once again, instead of wine-red as since 1988.

According to BBC, another significang change will come into force in February 1st, consisting on the inability by the British authorities to request the extradition of a suspect from Germany, since German laws forbid handing over their citizens to countries not in the EU.

ef/llp/arc/nm Readings in English