Puerto Rican Governor Wanda Vazquez has asked the US government to issue a major disaster federal declaration for 10 new municipalities.

Should the government of Donald J. Trump approve the request, the municipalities of Adjuntas, Cabo Rojo, Corozal, Jayuya, Lajas, Lares, Maricao, San German, San Sebastian and Villalba will be benefited from the federal individual assistance program.

The quakes that were registered in Puerto Rico, which has been during the past 121 years as a colonial protectorate of the United States, damaged housing and other structures of the southwest municipalities, while other neighborhoods also show damages and have incurred expenses, the governor told to justify the request.

The objective is to give them the tools to respond to the situation we are facing and it directly affects our citizens, she said.

We remain committed to leading the recovery of the island after the damage of the latest seismic activities, the first one on December 28 and the latest quake on January 7 with two seisms with a magnitude of 6.4 and 5.9 degrees on the Richter scale, the governor said.

President Trump signed on January 16 the major disaster declaration, which provides individual assistance to Guanica, Guayanilla, Peñuelas, Ponce, Utuado and Yauco.


https://ift.tt/2NRCepA Readings in English https://ift.tt/2NRCepA